Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Figi Named MASCAC Ice Hockey Player Of The Year

Figi Named MASCAC Ice Hockey Player Of The Year

Kloten, Switzerland native earns conference accolade

FITCHBURG, Mass. – Sophomore forward Sascha Figi (Kloten, Switzerland) was selected Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Ice Hockey Player of the Year as announced by the conference office on Wednesday afternoon.

Figi led all Fitchburg State honorees after collecting MASCAC Player of the Year honors as well as being named to the MASCAC All-Conference First Team, while sophomore goaltender Brian McGrath (Worcester, Mass.) also garnered MASCAC First Team All-Conference accolades.

Senior forward Nick DiNicola (Wolcott, Conn.) and classmate Connor McPherson (Clovis, Calif.) were also honored by the conference this afternoon being selected to the MASCAC All-Conference Second Team.

Figi ranked first in the conference in points (46) and goals (25), while adding 21 assists to help lead the Green and Gold to the fifth seed in the MASCAC Ice Hockey post-season tournament, while McGrath witnessed a stellar sophomore season in net for the Green and Gold after posting a MASCAC best 2.26 goals against average in addition to leading the conference in save percentage (.938).

DiNicola concluded his senior campaign, ranking second on the team with 42 points on 13 scores and a MASCAC-best 29 helpers as well as four game winning markers, while McPherson netted two goals and 12 assists for a total of 14 points.

Freshman forward Jake Ratcliffe (Canterbury, New Zealand) of Westfield State took home MASCAC Rookie of the Year honors after leading the MASCAC in freshmen scoring with 22 points on 12 tallies and ten assists.

Bob Miele of Westfield State was named the 2018-19 Champion's Choice Ice Hockey Coach of the Year in his ninth season with the Owls after leading them to an 11-6-1 conference mark and second seed in the MASCAC Tournament.

Joining Figi and McGrath on the MASCAC All-Conference First-Team were Michael Covach, Matt Volonnino, Tim Perron and Victor Bergstrom of Plymouth State.

The MASCAC All-Conference Second Team was comprised of McPherson, DiNicola, Ryan Stevens of Plymouth State, Mike Moran and Cody Weaver of Worcester State and Thierry Messervier of Westfield State in goal.

The Fitchburg State ice hockey team concluded the 2018-19 campaign with an overall record of 12-12-2 and a 9-7-2 clip within conference play.

Portions of release courtesy of MASCAC SID office

Click Here For Complete Conference Release