Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Football Earns Worcester All-Area Honors

Football Earns Worcester All-Area Honors

Falcons name five players to the 2017 Worcester All-Area Team

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Worcester Area Football Association has announced the 27th annual Steve "Merc" Morris All-Star Team as selected by the eight sports information directors of Worcester County who sponsor football.

Representing Fitchburg State were senior Jevon Brown-Simpson (Lynn, Mass.), classmate Devin Summiel (Tewksbury, Mass.), as well as juniors Stephen Armand (Lynn, Mass.), Cyrick Watford (Meriden, Conn.) and Jovon White (Meriden, Conn.), who all received All-Worcester Area Second Team selections.

The major award winners included sophomore quarterback Sean McAllen (Prospect, Conn.) of WPI and junior receiver Deonte Harris (Baltimore, Md.) of Assumption as the Co-Offensive Players of the Year while sophomore linebacker Michael Bianco (Manorville, N.Y.) of Becker and senior defensive back Andrew Benson (E. Bridgewater, Mass.) of Assumption were tabbed the Co-Defensive Players of the Year.

Senior placekicker Cole Tracy (Camarillo, Calif.) of Assumption earned Special Teams Player of the Year, while freshman linebacker Mike Quinn (Sutton, Mass.) of Worcester State was named Freshman of the Year. Bob Chesney of Assumption rounded out the major award winners after being named Worcester Area Football Association Coach of the Year.

Now celebrating its 27th anniversary, the Worcester Area Football Association All-Star Team is named in memory of Steve "Merc" Morris, the longtime Assistant Director of Athletics for Media Relations and Assumption Hall of Famer. Morris was a 1972 graduate of Assumption and was a member of the athletics staff for 39 years before he passed away in January of 2011.

In addition to being the founder of the Worcester Area Association All-Star Program, Morris was a tireless supporter of collegiate athletics and had a key role in the lives of thousands of student-athletes.

Click Here For Complete List Of All Honorees