Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

1960 Men's Soccer Team


2014 Inductee

In 1960 the Fitchburg State University Men's Soccer Team, coached by Gene Cassasa, completed an undefeated season (10-0) and was the New England Teachers College Athletic Conference Champion (9-0) that year. They were then selected to represent New England at the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics playoffs at Slippery Rock State College in Pennsylvania where they, unforunately lost in double overtime.

Among 14 players, the team scored 48 goald in their 10 season games. Their defense allowed only 3 goals the entire sesaon, shutting out their opponents for 7 games. A dominant team to say the least, but also one with the ideal combination of highly skilled players on both offense and defense. Seven of the 33 players were seniors this year, seeing league action for the last time, but what a nice way to say adieu.

Coach: Eugene Cassasa, Mangers: Phillip Connors '63 and Louis Gizzi '62

Team: David Aronson '62, Matthew Abbott '64, Robert Banta '62, Richard Berger '63, Robert Carter '63, John Catalini '63, David Erwin '65, Thomas Flynn '62, Vincent Gallivan '61, Ronald Gamache '63, Frederick Hallsworth '62, Armen Harootian '63, Emile Johnson Jr. '61, Abdeirahman Khangi '62, Roy Lake '61, William Leuci '61, Richard Luoma '63, Frank Mammone '63, Pelino Masciangioli '62, John McDonough '62, Emory Merrill '63, Edwin Page '61, Joseph "Butch" Pare '65, Jeffrey Peters '61, Kenneth Rostedt '62, Robert Rzeznikiewicz '63, Dalton "Bud" Smart '63, Peter Stephens, Richard Threlfall '63 and William Walsh '61.