Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Four Falcons Recognized At 34th Annual Honors Convocation

Four Falcons Recognized At 34th Annual Honors Convocation

Perry, Landry, Lary and Abbott among Fitchburg State award winners

FITCHBURG, Mass. (April 28, 2011) – The Fitchburg State athletic department had four student-athletes recognized at the Thirty-Fourth Annual Honors Convocation last Thursday afternoon.

Senior Connie Perry (Reading, Mass./Reading Memorial) and classmate Ali Landry (Bellingham, Mass./Bellingham) represented the Fitchburg State women’s lacrosse and soccer teams at the awards ceremony, while track and field athletes Will Lary (Winchendon, Mass./Oakmont) and Erin Abbott (Warwick, R.I./Pioneer Valley) were also honored.

Will Lary headed the list of Falcon award winners, earning the lone President’s Scholar Award, while track mate Erin Abbott was named to the Who’s Who Among Students In American Universities and Colleges list. Ali Landry brought home the Leadership Academy Commonwealth Scholar Award and Connie Perry rounded out the Falcons honorees with the Outstanding Student in Exercise and Sport Science Award.

In addition to their accolades in the classroom, all four of these athletes also excelled on the playing field. Lary and Abbott dominated both the indoor and outdoor track seasons, qualifying for the MASCAC’s and DIII New England’s, while Larry also earned a trip to both the All-New England and ECAC Championships.

Ali Landry etched her name in the Fitchburg State women’s soccer record books this season, becoming the Falcons all-time assists leader with 17 career helpers, while Connie Perry set new, women’s lacrosse career marks with 155 groundballs (1st), 60 caused turnovers (2nd) and 100 draw controls (2nd).

For more information regarding the 34th Annual Honors Convocation or Fitchburg State athletics, please contact Sports Information Director, Keith Brouillard at 978-665-3343 or via email at