Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Fitchburg State Picked Fourth In NEWLA Pre-Season Poll

Fitchburg State Picked Fourth In NEWLA Pre-Season Poll

FITCHBURG, Mass. (March 2, 2011) - The Fitchburg State women's lacrosse team was picked fourth overall in the New England Women's Lacrosse Alliance (NEWLA) Pre-Season Poll as announced by the conference office this afternoon.

Three-time defending champion Bridgewater State was selected as the women's lacrosse preseason favorite as the Bears received seven first place votes for a total of 63 points. Bridgewater State, one of only two institutions to have won a NEWLA championship since 1998, returns nine starters including the two-time NEWLA Defensive Player of the Year of the Year Erin Quimby and two-time all-conference first team selection Jenny Jones on attack.

Castleton, which finished in a three way tie last season at 6-1 received one first place votes and 53 points and placed second in the poll. The Spartans return seven starters including 2009 Offensive Player of the Year Marie VanDerKar.

Westfield State, which finished 6-1 in league play a season ago received one first place votes and 52 points. The Owls are bringing back 10 starters and will be led by a trio of first team all-conference performers; senior midfielder Rachel Dionne, senior attacker Laura Chiricosta and junior midfielder Carly Keeley.

Fitchburg State, which finished 4-3 in the conference and 10-7 overall, is looking to avenge a first round playoff loss from a year ago. Paving the way for the Falcons will be all-conference members, Amanda Burns, Carissa Kennedy and Connie Perry.


2011 NEWLA Coaches Poll

  1. Bridgewater State - 63 (7)
  2. Castleton - 53
  3. Westfield State - 52 (1)
  4. Fitchburg State - 37
  5. Worcester State - 30
  6. Framingham State - 29
  7. Becker - 16
  8. Elms - 8