Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

MASCAC Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

MASCAC Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

Figi named Rookie Of The Year; Fuller tabbed Coach Of The Year

FITCHBURG, Mass. – Three members of the Fitchburg State University Ice Hockey Team earned Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) All-Conference honors as announced by the conference office on Wednesday afternoon.

Freshman forward Sascha Figi (Kloten, Switzerland) led all Falcon honorees after being named MASCAC Ice Hockey Rookie of the Year as the first-year forward ranked third in the conference in points (40) and second in goals (21), while also earning MASCAC All-Conference Second Team honors.

Fitchburg State junior forward Nick DiNicola (Wolcott, Conn.) collected MASCAC All-Conference First Team accolades after ranking first in the conference in points (48) and helpers (35).

Fitchburg State head coach Dean Fuller rounded out this year's MASCAC All-Conference  honors for the Green and Gold after being named the 2017-18 Champion's Choice Ice Hockey Coach of the Year in his 34th season with the Falcons after leading them to an 11-4-3 conference mark and the second seed  in last week's MASCAC Tournament.

Junior forward Jonathan Ruiz of UMass Dartmouth took home MASCAC Player of the Year honors after finishing second in the MASCAC in points (45), while also ranking first in goals scored (27) as well as being selected to the MASCAC All-Conference First Team.

Joining DiNicola amd Ruiz on the MASCAC All-Conference First-Team were Ryan Stevens of Plymouth State at the forward position, Jerry Laakso of UMass Dartmouth and Victor Bergstrom of Plymouth State on defense and Jason Pucciarelli of Salem State in goal.

The MASCAC All-Conference Second Team was comprised of Figi, Mike Moran of Worcester State and Matt Volonnino of Plymouth State at forward, Tim Perron of Plymouth State and Carl Greco of Westfield State on defense and Evan Morelli of Plymouth State in goal.

The Fitchburg State ice hockey team recently captured the 2017-18 MASCAC Ice  Hockey Tournament Championship after defeating the Corsairs of UMass Dartmouth in the championship game, 2-0 on Saturday and will travel to Nichols College on Saturday, March 10th for a contest starting at 7:00 PM.

Portions of release courtesy of the MASCAC media relations office