Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Fitchburg State Streaks Past Rivier, 84-68

Fitchburg State Streaks Past Rivier, 84-68

Armstrong notches game-best 23 points for Falcons non-conference victory

NASHUA, N.H.  – The Fitchburg State University Falcons scored 48 points in the first half as they went on to win the 2014 and 22nd annual Rivier University Tip-Off Tournament this afternoon over the host, Rivier University by a final of 84-68 at the Muldoon Gymnasium. The Falcons captured their 2nd Tournament Championship – their first came in 2011 when they defeated Daniel Webster College, 99-95.

Fitchburg State (5-0 overall) was led by Tournament MVP, junior Keyon Armstrong. Armstrong shot 8-for-11 from the floor with a total of six 3-pointers en route to a game high 23 points. The Falcons saw a total of five student-athletes reach double figures.

All-Tournament selection, junior Givaughn Jones scored 13 points and both freshman Maurice Greene and junior Anthony Muccioli added 12 points in the win. Junior Kwame Lee also provided help with 10 points and 2 assists.

Rivier (1-3) senior Jake Nelson led the team with 13 points, while freshman Andre Ruff (and sophomore Matthew Manning added 11 and ten points respectively as they were both named to the All-Tournament Team. Freshman David Lorden came off the bench and collected the game high of 9 rebounds.

Rivier will return to the floor on Tuesday evening as they host New England College in a 5:30pm tip-off. Fitchburg State will look to remain unbeaten as they are also in action on Tuesday night at home against UMass-Boston. 

Fitchburg State (5-0, 0-0 MASCAC) returns to action on Tuesday as it hosts the Beacons of UMass Boston at 7:30 p.m. Rivier (1-3, 0-0 GNAC) will host New England College on Tuesday with a 5:30 tipoff.


All-Tournament Team

#21 Peter Donato (Colby-Sawyer)

#15 David Mcentee (Albany College of Pharmacy)

#14 Andre Ruff (Rivier)

#13 Matthew Manning (Rivier)

#22 Anthony Muccioli (Fitchburg State)​

#32 Givaughn Jones (Fitchburg State)

#11 Keyon Armstrong (Fitchburg State) -Tournament MVP


Follow the Falcons on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter!